• Polski
  • English
15 - 23 October 2023


Artistic Association PianoClassic

We have been promoting classical music in Poland and abroad already from 2008. We organized almost 300 concerts in 30 countries with the participation of more than 1000 musicians. We put emphasis on the piano music but we are presenting solo recitals as well as chamber music concerts and events with symphonic orchestras.

Our key idea is combining expertise and passion in creating artistic events at the highest, professional level. The president of the Association is Polish pianist Marian Sobula, a laureate of many international piano competitions, has won several scholarships funded by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage,  the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Polish Culture Foundation. He is considered to be ‘one of the most promising artists of the young generation’. The programing board comprises the most prominent figures from the musical world: prof. Paul Badura – Skoda, Peter Grote, prof. Marian Lapsansky, prof. John O’Conor, prof. Arie Vardi and the Head is prof. Andrzej Pikul, an outstanding Polish piano teacher (head of the Piano Department at the Academy of Music in Cracow), pianist and jury member of international piano contests.

PianoClassic does not have a fixed source of financing, nor does it receive any regular subsidies. The Associations operation has been possible thanks to the funds it obtained for carrying out particular projects. During the eight year long history of  its flagship project – The Royal Cracow International Piano Festival, PianoClassic has cooperated with the following institutions and companies: authorities of the Małopolska Province (Marshal’s Office and Małopolska Provincial Office), the municipal authorities of the City of Cracow, Institute of Music and Dance, Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, Tauron Polska Energia S.A., Polimex-Mostostal S.A., Fundacja Orange, PERN, MARR, EC Kraków, Energokrak, YAMAHA, The Italian Institute of Culture, Montenegrin Embassy in Poland, The French Institute, The Czech Centre, The Romanian Institute of Culture, Academy of Music in Cracow.

Honorary board:

  • Prof. Paul Badura-Skoda[*] – Austria
  • Prof. Willem Brons – The Netherlands
  • Prof. Carlos Cebro – Uruguay
  • Prof. Andrzej Jasiński – Poland
  • Prof. Marian Lapsansky – Slovakia
  • Prof. John O’Connor – Ireland
  • Prof. Sergio Perticaroli [*] – Italy
  • Prof. John Ross – The Republic of South Africa
  • Prof. Warren Thomson [*] – Australia
  • Prof. Tamas Ungar – USA
  • Prof. Arie Vardi – Israel